The Quality Food Awards

The Quality Food Awards


The Quality Food Awards started in 1979, originally run in conjunction with the late lamented Supermarketing magazine. The intention was, as it is today, to highlight best practice in food and drink products that are freely available to all, through supermarkets, food service and independent retailers.


Today the awards are run by Helen Lyons and a dedicated team at Metropolis International. From a single set of awards, they have grown to include the Quality Drink Awards (spun off in 2006), the Irish Quality Food and Drink Awards and the Food Service Awards. More recent additions to the family have been the Local Shop Awards, The Small Producer Awards and Good Choice!, the latter designed to highlight healthier products.


The judging process


All the various Quality Food Awards are assessed in the same robust and comprehensive judging process. Products are scrutinised by a panel of independent food industry experts against the following criteria:


  • taste
  • flavour
  • texture
  • aroma
  • clean ingredients list
  • degree of innovation
  • packaging
  • presentation
  • price point


For each product category the judges decide upon a shortlist, guided by an expert chair. From this shortlist a category winner is selected. A second round of judging then decides which of the category winners should win the highly coveted Gold Q award. The judges also have the option to commend or highly commend outstanding products.


Every entrant receives comprehensive feedback on their product so they can see the positive and negative comments made by the judging panel. This forms part of the QFA’s commitment to encouraging continuous improvement in the food and drink industry.


Find out more

Everything you need to know about the Quality Food Awards can be found here , including details of how and when to enter (and there is an entertaining blog ).